His Excellency President Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete was elected the fourth President of the United Republic of Tanzania in 2005 and re-elected for a second term in 2010.

President Kikwete is a graduate of economics from the University of Dar es Salaam. With more than 30 years of public service, he joined the Tanzania Cabinet in 1988 and held several ministerial posts including Minister for Finance, Minister for Water, Energy and Mineral Resources, and Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation. With a ten-year tenure, he was the longest serving Foreign Minister in Tanzania’s history.

As Minister of Foreign Affairs, the president led Tanzania’s efforts to help bring peace to the Great Lakes region. As chairman of the East African Community’s Council of Ministers, he played a pivotal role in furthering the regional integration of East Africa. He also co-chaired the Helsinki Process on Globalization and Democracy with the Foreign Minister of Finland.

In January 2008, President Kikwete was elected Chairman of the African Union (AU) Assembly of Heads of States and Government, where he took a proactive role in the resolution of conflicts in Kenya and the Democratic Republic of Congo. He also advanced relations between the AU and the United Nations, European Union and the international community.

He is currently a member for the International Commission on Financing Global Education Opportunity, Co-Chair of the UN High Level Advisory Group on Every Woman Every Child, African Union High Level Representative to Libya and Global Ambassador for Immunization.